Tags

, , ,

I just got back from Nashville where B.B. and I went to see a Nashville Predators game. The visiting team was the Anaheim Ducks, who beat the Predators 5-2 and currently have the best winning record with 41 wins this season.

IMG_0543[1]

Up close to see the action! Allen vs. Clune.

B.B. and I had pretty awesome seats (behind the penalty box) so it was a pretty exciting game to watch (also it’s been a few years since I have been to an NHL game (the last might have been when the Detroit Red Wings came to Vancouver and got shut out 4-0 or when I went to see the Edmonton Oilers take on the Columbus Blue Jackets).

The price for the seats was pretty reasonable, I thought (a little over $100 each). But being so close to the action was worth it. I thought that the price was low considering how close we were to the ice. I was curious to find out how much ticket prices varied from venue to venue. As expected, the cost for NHL tickets in Canada seems to be a bit higher.

City

Venue

Seating capacity*

Avg cost per ticket**

 Toronto  Air Canada Centre 18,819  $ 123.77
 Vancouver  Rogers Arena 18,910  $   68.38
 Nashville  Bridgestone Arena  17,113  $   51.04
 Dallas  American Airlines Center  18,584  $   29.95
*Based on seating capacity for hockey (Wikipedia pages)
 **ESPN article about cheapest tickets in NHL

The other thing that I thought that was weird about the game were the cheerleaders (there are no cheerleaders in hockey!). Well, it was a surprise. It’s pretty much an American thing to make hockey more enticing to watch, I guess. I found out that none of the Canadian teams have cheerleaders, except for Edmonton.

One cool thing about the game in Nashville is that because it’s in Music City, there is a lot of emphasis on live music. There was a Ford Band Stage between the upper and lower bowl with a live band playing in between periods, and that was pretty fun.

