Tags

, , , , ,

meridianI am generally a positive person, but sometimes, it’s hard to keep that mindset when people annoy you. Today, there were literally dozens of them, mostly impatient people illegally driving several blocks down a two-way left turn lane in order to bypass the people waiting in the correct and legal lane. This was all so that they could get to the parking lot and get to the Geist Mini-Marathon and 5km race on time! By doing that, they were slowing down people who arrived before them and were trying to patiently wait their turn in the correct and legal lane. I find some irony in the fact that there are a lot of people representing charity groups who participate in this race yet, a lot of the people at the race, seem to only be thinking about themselves and their own conveniences (I’m not sure if it’s a charity event, but it’s sponsored by a major hospital). It was horrible. There was a whole lane of us sitting in idling cars while people cruised past to cut the line.

I like long walks, especially when they are taken by people who annoy me.”

— Noël Coward

Needless to say, B.B. and I were late for the race. In fact, we did not make it to the half marathon start. We were able to make it to the 5km run. It was possible to continue running beyond the 5km, as it was the same route, but it wasn’t clearly marked. It was just as well, B.B. wasn’t up for the run and we started running about half an hour behind the last runner. Finishing a 5km is still respectable though. I felt pretty good running, but I attribute that to the training for the Mini Marathon earlier this month.

This race seemed like it could be a good run around Geist reservoir, although, a little hillier than I am used to running. However, if ever, B.B. and I decide to attempt this half marathon again, we will probably have to leave an hour earlier than we did (I think that we waited in traffic, less than a mile from the parking lot, for a good 40 minutes).

The biggest issue was the parking, or rather, the huge bottleneck to get to the school parking lot. It was very discouraging to see so many people taking advantage of the people who were trying to be patient. I think that the race organizers should consider having more police presence to help direct traffic. It was a frustrating start to the day that I do not ever want to relive.

