Tags

, , ,

No, I’m not talking about myself, although I do enjoy a good party and 99.9% of the time, I am typically the only Canadian at these mid-west parties. I’m talking about fricket, considered, a some-what new Canadian past-time, a popular party game at Canadian ultimate (Frisbee) events. I’ve come to realize that it is not a popular activity here, so when I suggested it, I got a lot of questions about it.

I think that the name fricket is a combination of the words “Frisbee” and “cricket” (or possibly “wicket”). Although this game is nothing like cricket, you do need 4 posts, 4 Solo cups, 4 players and a disc.

Basically, you need to set up the game as illustrated in the above diagram. The object of the game is go reach 7 points first (although, you can play to whatever score that you choose). Points are scored by:

  • passing the disc between the opponents poles = 2 points
  • knocking over a cup = 1 point
  • catching a cup knocked over by the opposing team’s throw (one-handed catch*) = 1 point

*note: this is a the perfect game for drinking a beer while you play because you only need one hand to throw the disc and to catch a cup

For complete rules and possible game scenarios, visit the official Fricket website.

It was a fun activity and I think that everyone enjoyed playing and watching. On an interesting side-note, the topics of other Canadian sports came up and curling and lacrosse were mentioned–perhaps activities for another party?

