Tags

I have always found it interesting that even though Canada is so close to the U.S. (80% of Canadians live within 150 km of the U.S. border) and that Canadians watch a lot of U.S. programming, there are still some notable language differences.

For example, the other day, I was trying to describe a tuque (by the way, I was tempted to spell it “touque” but I’m just going by what I’ve seen online). No one in Indiana seems to know the word, so I have to explain myself if I happen to use it in a sentence. Despite this, I’m not sure what people call them here, it’s just a generic winter hat. Someone did tell me that she had heard people in southern Indiana refer to a tuque as a “toboggan.” That surprised me, as I envisioned a sled resting on a head. I did find a Wikipedia entry that backs this up.

Do you say "tuque", "wool cap," or "toboggan"?

Tuque on Wikipedia:

In the United States South and Midwest, especially southern Appalachia, it is often called a “toboggan”.

I’ll have to add this to my list of Indiana tidbits page.

Some other common things that I say are “often” with a silent “t” (which makes sense since no one says “Sof-TEN”); “grade nine” as opposed to “ninth grade” (cue Barenaked Ladies song); “across” instead of “acrost”; and the letter “zed” rather than “zee” (credit in part goes to Canadian Sesame Street and my kindergarten teacher). There are so many more that I’ve come acrost, I mean across. (Just kidding! The day I use the word “acrost” is the day I’ll know that I’ve been in Indiana too long).

