Tags

, , , ,

Now that I’m working full-time, I was looking though my Outlook calendar and realized that I have some holidays that I have never taken off before. For example, this month, I have an extra holiday (Martin Luther King Day). Yay! That got me thinking, I wonder if there are more stat holidays in the U.S. than in Canada. There are a few common holidays like New Year’s Day, Easter, Labour/Labor Day, Christmas Day. I decided to create a comparison list of Canadian and American holidays. Here’s the list:  

Canadians and US holidays for 2011

  Canada US
January 1 New Year’s Day New Year’s Day
January 17   Martin Luther King Day (MLK Day)
February 21   President’s Day
April 22 Good Friday  
April 25 Easter Easter
May 23 Victoria Day  
May 30   Memorial Day
July 1 Canada Day  
July 4   Independence Day
August 1 B.C. Day (Civic Holiday)  
September 5 Labour Day Labor Day
October 10 Thanksgiving Day Columbus Day
November 11 Remembrance Day  
November 24   Thanksgiving Day
December 24   Christmas Eve*
December 25 Christmas Day Christmas Day
December 26 Boxing Day Christmas Holiday*
December 31 New Year’s Eve* New Year’s Eve*

(*Not a stat holiday, but I have gotten or currently get these extra days off)

