Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last weekend, B.B. and I went to see the 25th annual Duke Energy Yuletide Celebration which was a show with Christmas carols, tap dancing Santas, with Broadway actors, special guests, and the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. (We actually went with a group of people and we were all seated in the dress circle). The host of the show was Sandi Patty who is apparently a Grammy-winning gospel singer. She sang quite a bit throughout the show and had a group of back up singers and the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra. One of her first songs was from the Sound of Music (My Favorite Things) and I am pretty sure that the words were altered a bit. They broke it up between slower songs, Christmas carols and they even had a Glee moment when they sang Mariah Carey’s, “All I Want for Christmas is You.”

A large portion of the show consisted on singing (opera-style) and a lot of costume changes (all of the women were wearing sparkly ballroom off the shoulder gowns and the men were wearing tuxes. The host changed gowns about a dozen time–usually the same style of gown, but in a different colour. At one point, when they sang a number, but I was too busy checking out their outfits. The women were wearing red and white off the shoulder gowns and the men were wearing red tuxes. It reminded me of the tuxes in Dumb and Dumber when Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels show up to a gala wearing brightly coloured tuxedos complete with ruffled shirts and matching top hats (blue tux and orange tux). The costume changes were distracting, I suspect that was to help keep the show entertaining. My mind often wandered elsewhere during some of the performances.

Every once in a while, the show would break into a comedy routine. Some of the highlights included a skit where a bunch of women are out doing their Christmas shopping. They were wearing colourful clothing (pink boots), a lot of makeup and really big hair. Each time a new woman came out, she would have bigger hair than the woman before her, which of course, was part of the humour. They did a little song and made some local reference jokes (driving on the 465 and jokes related to Colts fans). There was also a magician and a flamboyant assistant donning Vegas-inspired numbers (she essentially provided comic relief to the show). Without even speaking one line, she was effective in over exagerating her importance in all of the scenes. And it worked. Without question, she was one of the best parts of the show. She also made additional appearances throughout the show including the tap-dancing Santas (she was quite the tap dancer). There was an interesting vintage pipe organ called a Wurlitzer which was built in the 1930’s and recently restored. The man playing the pipe organ was wearing a very sparkly red and green sequinned vest. If he had played hockey music, that would have been cool (but he didn’t because we’re in Indiana). The harmonica man was kind of cool. I enjoyed him (Vegas-girl came out and provided some comedy during his performance).

The big finale was a Christmas bit with a chimney and Santa and flying reindeer puppets (driven by stage hands who wore a harness vest and worked the puppets above their heads). It was a bit of an ode to Night Before Christmas. Somewhat heartwarming, predictable, not too original. Overall, the show was okay. Even though the show is different each Christmas, I don’t think that I would pay to go see the show again next year.

——

Since B.B. and I were dressed up (suit and tie, dress and pearls) we decided to stop off at a cocktail lounge on Mass Ave (Massachusetts Avenue) called Mesh on Mass. As I was walking along the sidewalk, by-passing the smokers outside, one girl had the nerve to blow her exhaled smoke directly towards my face. I saw the smoke heading my way and quickly moved to the side and out of the way. I am pretty sure–no, I know that it was intentional; she was looking right at me when she did it and before I got near her. Most smokers are considerate enough to blow smoke straight up into the air and not to the side in people’s path. B.B. was behind me and told me later that she opened her mouth and was about to say something to me, so he stopped right in front of her and waited for her to speak. But she looked away and pretended that she didn’t do anything wrong. Fortunately, I didn’t get smoke in my face or hair, I was just out of range. So we went into the restaurant. B.B. almost said something, but I’m glad that he didn’t because it just wasn’t worth it. I can’t believe how rude that girl was. She was as disgusting as her habit. This was the only drama of the evening.

We enjoyed a couple of appetizers, calamari and seared tuna. It was ok. I think that the calamari was a little too saucy (it was some sort of hot sauce and mayonnaise mixture). I think that restaurants often use sauce to cover up taste. More often than not, it just doesn’t work. B.B. thinks that the only thing that belongs on calamari is lemon. I agree. Less is often more when it comes to food.

Despite all of the mediocreness and minor drama, the evening was good. I enjoyed my night out with B.B., as always.

