Tags

, ,

Sweet corn for sale.

Last weekend, B.B. and I went to his mom’s house to help her freeze corn. I had never heard of such a thing before. I know that corn (or maize) can be traced back to the time of the Aztecs and Mayans, but I never really considered corn a staple food of today. I was always content with purchasing my 2 or 3 cans of Green Giant corn at the supermarket. But here in Indiana, freezing corn is the norm.

B.B.’s mom had bought about 5 or 6 dozen ears of corn from a local Amish farmer. I have never seen so much corn (in a house) in my life!  It was quite the production. B.B.’s dad was husking corn, B.B.’s mom was blanching the corn and cutting the corn, B.B. was throwing the cobs outside to compost and loading the freezer. So there I was cutting corn off the cobs and scraping the juice off with a butter knife into a dish and then pouring it into freezer bags. I ended up wearing a lot of the corn (maybe a cob’s worth) which seemed to be magnetically attracted to my clothes and face. We ended up taking several freezer bags home with us. We also stayed for dinner and ate corn on the cobb (we also had grilled pork and salad).

Is corn healthy? I am not sure. The nutritional value of a cup of yellow corn (166 grams) contains approximately 123 grams of carbohydrates, 16 grams of protein, 12 grams of fiber, and 8 grams of fat. In addition to that, corn contains Vitamin A, some iron, a small amount of calcuim. (These facts came from Self Nutrition Data).

While corn is low in saturated fat, cholesterol and sodium, the dressings that you add to corn may reduce the overall health benefits. For example, adding salt and butter will increase the amount of fat, cholesterol and sodium that you ingest. In addition to that, certain varieties of corn contain higher amount of sugars. Corn in Indiana is often called “sweet corn” which suggests a higher sugar content.

