Today, I went to the mailbox and found my Green Card (or permanent resident card). I am now a legal permanent resident of the United States of America!

It’s kind a huge feat considering the amount of paperwork that I had to fill out, the amount of research I did, all of the gathering, photocopying and organizing of documentation, the coordinating that I did with B.B., the interviews and the general hassle and stress of going through USCIS (United States Citizenship Immigration Services). But, I’m glad that we did it ourselves and that we did not hire a lawyer to do this. It’s not hard to do, but it requires a lot of patience and attention to detail. Would I do it again? Probably. Maybe B.B. and I will one day move to Canada and we’ll fill out the paperwork for him. I have a feeling that it will be a little easier and a little less stressful.

But it’s done! Yay! Double yay!! I’m so happy that the hard stuff is over.

The top portion of my residency card (obviously, I didn't want to share everything)

