Recycling in Indiana

I was in a parking lot today when I saw a young woman in a car open her car door, place her can of pop on the pavement and close the door.  She did not drive off but, she began texting on the phone. I am not sure if she was planning on leaving her can there. Maybe she was going to get out of the car in a few minutes and she was going to take the can with her. I thought about knocking on her window to ask her if she was going to recycle that but I didn’t think it was any of my business to do so. It’s not as if she was about to drive off.

That’s the thing about trying to be environmentally friendly. You don’t want to force recycling onto people. It should be friendly, encouraging, and non-confrontational.  Instead I thought that it was about time that I do my own recycling.

I gathered all of my recyclables in the garage and I take them to a nearby recycling center which is about 3 miles away. I usually go every 2-3 months. At the recycling centre you can recycle glass containers, plastic containers and other items, newspapers, cardboard, aluminum items. I usually sort everything but when I went to the recycling place, I found out that you can put all of your plastics, tin, aluminum and glass into the same bin. That made it easy.

Recycling does take some time and effort, but it’s not a burden. I cringe when I think of all of the garbage piling up in landfills around the world. A lot of the material that goes to the landfill can be recycled. If each person tried to recycle a bit of the packaging from their daily lives, we could definitely help to reduce a considerable amount of garbage.

I’m not perfect in when it comes to reducing, reusing, and recycling but, I am conscious of the amount of waste we throw away and I try and do my part to reduce that waste.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

