Teemu

I just wanted to talk about my little guinea pig. I have had him for about three weeks now. Someone was giving it away to a good home because the kids weren’t spending enough time with it. I could tell based on how long his nails had grown (the nails had started to curl under his foot–of course the first thing I did was trim his little nails).

This is my second guinea pig. I named him Teemu, after Teemu Selanne–I just like naming my guinea pigs after hockey players with interesting names).  The first guinea pig I named Domi (after Tie Domi–maybe he’s not the nicest hockey player but the name Domi suited my guinea pig).

My first guinea, Domi, was also a rescue pig from the days when I was living overseas and teaching English in South Korea. My friend, W.Z. was out for a walk one August evening when he noticed a cage sitting next to a pile of trash. Upon closer inspection, he discovered that there was a baby guinea pig in the cage. He took the cage and guinea pig back to his apartment and took care of it for a month. He then gave me the guinea pig to look after as he was moving back to his home country.

Domi ate lettuce but she's still begging for food (note: lettuce mustache)

Domi had so much personality. Instead of running away from people, she would walk right up to them to say hello. She squealed everytime she heard a produce bag because she thought that she was getting lettuce. She could tell the difference between a produce bag and a shopping bag — she never squealed if she heard the rustling of a regular shopping bag. She would play with my husband and I when we let her run around on the bed (we covered the bed with an extra sheet, but she was toilet trained to go to the bathroom on the newspaper that I put out for her).  If we were falling asleep and not paying any attention to her, she would take a nibble at our hair and leave a bald spot! Sometimes, she would even climb onto my huband’s shoulder or hip and jump up and down on him if he was falling asleep and not paying any attention to her. She also threw her toys out of the cage if she wanted attention. She was a very funny guinea pig!

I wasn’t able to take Domi back to Canada with me because one of the Korean airlines wouldn’t let me take her onto the plane (Boo out to Asiana Airlines! They told me in an e-mail that a guinea pig is not considered a pet and therefore they would not transport a guinea pig). I had to find her a home in Korea. I tried asking around at my school but a lot of the teachers didn’t want to have the same problem of having to give Domi away when it was their turn to leave.  I put an ad on Dave’s ESL Cafe for any teachers in South Korea who would be interested in looking after Domi. A couple people responded and I ended up giving Domi to a teacher who had four kittens. I figured that if he had so many pets, he would at least care enough to look after my guinea pig. I later learned that his kittens loved to play with Domi, and vice versa. It sounded like Domi enjoyed playing tag with the kittens. I am glad that Domi has a good home but sometimes I wish I still had Domi.

Now I have Teemu. He’s not as clever as Domi but, he’s pretty cute. He’s a little shyer than Domi so he doesn’t really initiate any interaction with us, unless there is food involved. Then he’ll come running! Also, Teemu is a boy (I never knew if Domi was male or female, but after getting Teemu, I am convinced that Domi was a girl).  Teemu is basically a teenage guinea and his hormones have kicked into gear. I made a stuffed guinea pig out of old socks thinking that he might be a good cuddle buddy for Teemu. I wasn’t expecting Teemu to start humping the fake guinea pig! I did some research online and apparently that is just to show other guinea pigs who is the dominant piggie. I’m pretty sure that Domi would have figured out right away that it was a sock. Domi would have used the fake guinea pig as a resting pillow. Well, I am enjoying Teemu but, it’s pretty hard not to compare him to Domi.

