Tags

, , , , ,

Last night, I had a terrible sleep. I also had some odd dreams (which may be the reason why I had such a terrible sleep).

In the first dream, I remember riding bicycles through desert hills. B.B. was in the dream and he had to stop to check something on his bike. I was too impatient to wait for him so I told him that I was going to check out what was at the bottom of the next hill. I rode my bike, rounding a bend and I came to a vast valley below.  At the bottom of the golden hills, there was a black bull with large horns (kind of like Ferdinand, but not a cartoon). The bull was angry and was running wild in circles, tearing shrubs and trees in its path. I didn’t go all the way to the bottom of the hill, so I stopped half way down (it was a long hill). The bull saw me and ran up the hill toward me. I was a little scared, but not terrified. Since I couldn’t cycle very fast uphill, I ran to a nearby tree. I climbed it, but I think that the bull managed to get me and…well, I just stopped dreaming, but didn’t wake up.

The next dream was about my guinea pig, Teemu. I was so mad at him because he kept sneaking out of his cage. He actually managed to scale the cage and climb to the top (very weird because, as you probably know, guinea pigs don’t have opposable thumbs, nor can they scale wire bars). He peed on the top of the cage and he also jumped off of the cage and onto the floor. He kept escaping and I was highly irritated with him.

For fun, I decided to look up the meaning of major symbols in my dreams (how Carl Jungian of me!):

Bull - The bull in a dream shows competition and also some type of fear or anger that is beginning to consume you totally! This also shows some type of passion a bull shows some type of sexual pleasure. Bull – To see a bull in your dream, symbolizes stubbornness, strong will, strength, and power. The dream may be telling you that it is time to take a stand and be more assertive. Alternatively, the bull indicates a rich, prosperous, and abundant life.

Guinea Pig- To see a guinea pig in your dream suggests that you are keeping your temper in line. This dream can also indicate a need for love and acceptance.

Desert - A desert can symbolize desolation and abandonment, but also a place of contemplation, quiet and Devine revelation. At times a dessert in a dream symbolizes the unconscious and represents the dreamer’s sense of separation from it. Deserts are generally barren with little vegetation or animal life.

Tree

(1) A tree may symbolize the life principle or the power of growth {the ability and need for personal growth}.

(2) It may symbolize the fulfilling of your destiny by surrendering to inner forces of growth and the guidance that comes from your unconscious, as distinct from such things as conscious planning and the will to achieve.

{3} A tree may present an antidote to personal {e.g. intellectual or moralistic} lopsidedness. Just as the tree can reach high in the sky only because it is strongly rooted in the earth, so it may be that spirituality cannot be arrived at except via sensuality, and that the full development of consciousness requires the assistance of the unconscious.

{4} A withered tree may symbolize the dried-up state of, for example, a person who has lived too much in the head, with doctrines and rigid rules taking the place of instinct {intuitiveness} and the natural power of growth.

Obviously, these dreams mean that I was stressed about something. I was worried about not waking up early enough. I had to go somewhere really early in the morning on Saturday). I guess that you can read anything you want into dreams. I think that part of the reason why I had these dreams is because B.B.and I were talking about animals before I went to sleep (we talked about sharks–I am scared of sharks; we talked about dogs, and cats). I’ll just take my dreams with a grain of salt.

