Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Gelato Da Vinci Bistro is a small family restaurant, locally owned and operated by the Colven family who “bring the brilliant taste of gelato and the smooth, rich taste of Italian coffee along with the charm of Old World Italy to its customers.” When you first enter, you see a counter where you can order gelato, homemade desserts or a coffee to go from the full service espresso bar. The other section is a small dining area where you can sit down and enjoy a meal within in a quaint atmosphere. The bistro seems overshadowed by its neighbour, Petit Chou (another restaurant where I have dined), however, I was pleasantly surprised when I first visited this bistro to get some gelato to go (it was the best gelato that I have had in Indianapolis). I’ve returned a few times  to get a coffee to go. The coffee was delicious (they serve Segafredo Zanetti imported from Italy). Tonight, I finally had the chance to sit down and enjoy a meal.

We started off with a small caesar salad. It was quite delicious, even though it was only a salad. I loved the tanginess of it and I appreciated the fact that it was well-dressed without being overdressed (hardly any salad dressing was left on the plate when I was finished eating it). I ordered the Chicken Mushroom Fettuccine which consisted of egg fettuccine with chicken, spinach , Portobello mushroom in a cream sauce. It was a delicious dish but it was a little too rich, but quite tasty. I nice dry white wine would have complimented this dish (however, I was not in the drinking mood and I did not order wine with my meal). B.B. wanted something with a little more vegetables so he ordered the Melanzana Napoleon which was Japanese eggplant, roasted red onion, fresh spinach, buffalo mozzarella and herbed feta Polenta in a pomodoro sauce. I had a little sample of his meal and it was quite tasty.

I would definitely come back to this restaurant again.

Location Clay Terrace, Carmel, IN, Price range $10 – $24

